CSPRI's History

CSPRI’s founding director in 1993 was Distinguished Research Professor Lance Hoffman. Professor C. Dianne Martin took over when Professor Hoffman retired from the GW regular faculty in 2001 and capably led CSPRI to become a premier venue for policy discussion and research about open source development. During 2005-2007, when Professor Martin was on leave, CSPRI did not convene any seminars or conferences and its charter lapsed.

However, a significant amount of sponsored research activity that fell within the purview of the institute continued and goes on today. Indeed, there is more interest than ever from both the federal government and the private sector. With this new awareness of the public, key decision makers (including the President of the United States), and GW’s administration about the importance of cybersecurity, and with an infusion of funding from GW’s Academic Affairs Office and its School of Engineering and Applied Science, Prof. Hoffman agreed to return as Director upon its rechartering in October 2009.  In February 2016, CSPRI was relaunched again with Prof. Hoffman and Dr. Costis Toregas as co-directors.   In July 2017, Dr. Toregas assumed sole responsibility as Director.  Dr. Hoffman remains active, with the title of Founder.

CSPRI’s people bring together education, skills, and keen insights about the future in one place. The Institute’s associates all work towards the common goal of providing timely analysis and research of current issues related to cyber security. Leadership is provided by co-directors and an internal advisory board.